April Warmachine Wrap-Up

3 05 2014

Despite the end of the university term and my recent obsession with Super Dungeon Explore, I did manage to slap some paint on Warmahordes models this past month. What? Warmahordes? Indeed.

First up we have a mini unit of the Gatorman Posse. I picked these fellows up last year on a leftover sale at my FLG. I had left them half-finished until this month. I’ve tried to use water effect with some ink to make a swampy base —which is completely lost in the shot except for a previous unnoticed mistake right in the front of the leader. *sigh*

20140503-142214.jpg

Next up is the Boneswarm light warbeast. It was likewise picked up on a sale. I tried to paint it following the Incorporeal Tutorial I linked to back in January. What I discovered was that you should stop two steps earlier. The model was gorgeous after the following steps:

  • Basecoat Ice Blue
  • Wash with Thraka Green
  • Wash with Asumen Blue
  • Drybrush with white (I used Vallejo Primer White)

Unfortunately, I then washed it again with green and blue. And so, we have the following result:

20140503-142205.jpg

Not horrible, but not what I wanted either. I’d be more upset, but I considered this model a test of Alexia and the Risen. I will eventually paint up two batches of Risen using the colour scheme above. Mwahahahah.

Finally, we have Eiryss, Mage Hunter of Ios. Apparently painting up a model with snowy camouflage pattern will be worth 5 league points for Purists in Halfaug. I looked at several tutorials and tried my best, but she still looks a bit… wrong. I iced the base like my Khador but used my standard Merc front arc colour scheme. If it weren’t for the fact that I literally have more points to paint than I have painted, I would probably throw here in a Simple Green bath. As it is, I’ll just grin and bear it.

20140503-142223.jpg

So that’s all for Warmahordes for the month of April. Hopefully I’ll get two some more Stonehaven miniatures in May. I’ve still got a shitload of gnomes left to paint from the last kickstarter, and I’ll be getting my shipment of Elves sometime this month.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment